Area school teachers' sabbatical

An Area School Teachers' Sabbatical provides 10 school weeks' paid leave for you to undertake professional learning activities, reflection and rejuvenation.

Each year there are 12 sabbaticals available to teachers, in state or state-integrated area schools, covered by the Area School Teachers' Collective Agreement (ASTCA).

Applications for the 2023 Area School Teachers’ Sabbatical are closed. Notifications will be sent on 4 August 2022.

Please make sure you read all the webpages for information on the award before applying.

The Frequently Asked Questions can be found here.

Am I eligible for an Area School Teachers’ Sabbatical?

If you wish to apply for an Area School Teachers' Sabbatical, you must: 

  • be employed under the Area School Teachers' Collective Agreement or applicable Individual Employment Agreement (IEA)
  • hold a full and current practising certificate
  • be a full-time and registered teacher with at least 10 years' continuous teaching service working in a New Zealand state or state-integrated school
  • not currently be under review for competence and/or conduct and discipline (as per sections 2.3 or 2.4 of the ASTCA).

Previous recipients’ professional learning

You can read previous recipients' sabbatical reports here.

Contact Us

We're here to help. If you can't find the answer you're looking for in the application guidelines, get in touch with us by calling 0800 165 225 or email

New Zealand Teachers Council New Zealand Education Gazette New Zealand Qualifications Authority Immigration New Zealand