School Curriculum

What does The New Zealand Curriculum Framework include?

The New Zealand Curriculum Framework is the foundation policy statement covering teaching, learning, and assessment for all students in all New Zealand schools. It outlines the ways in which the New Zealand Curriculum can balance the needs and interests of individual students with the requirements of society and the economy.

The revised New Zealand curriculum was launched in November 2007. There are now eight essential learning areas

  • English
  • The arts
  • Health and physical education
  • Learning languages
  • Mathematics and statistics
  • Science
  • Social sciences
  • Technology

Te Marautanga o Aotearoa

Te Marautanga o Aotearoa, the draft curriculum written for Māori immersion education, was released in November 2007. Te Marautanga sits beside the revised New Zealand Curriculum, also launched recently, and is New Zealand’s first truly indigenous curriculum.

It sets the direction for teaching and learning for the students in New Zealand’s 350 primary and secondary Māori Medium schools. It aims to increase Māori achievement in all parts of the education system, particularly in literacy and numeracy, to increase the number of bilingual and multilingual students in New Zealand, and to strengthen kaupapa matauranga Māori.

If you’d like to find out more about Te Marautanga o Aotearoa, visit the Ministry of Education website.

New Zealand Teachers Council New Zealand Education Gazette New Zealand Qualifications Authority Immigration New Zealand